Training Dayz

5 Sep

The count down begins!!

One month until my Sprint Triathlon, The Grandman. I am VERY excited but also SCARED to death!!

My Training so far:

The Swim

I am gaining more and more confidence in my swim, but worried about the MASS swim. I am fairly competitive, but have no desire to be kicked in the face. I wanted to start swimming 3 times a week instead of 2 this week but the pool is 30+miles away, and does not open until 6:30 am so for several reasons (TIME) 30 minutes is my limit for now. There are no coaches, lessons or masters programs in the area but I have been watching a lot of videos on the Swimsmooth site to try and improve my stroke. I hope to do an open water practice at the race site in a few weeks. The race swim is 1/3 mile. Also we jump off of swim starta side pier off a HUGE pier WAY out in the water which I know swim wise will be easier than wading out BUT I KNOW what HUGE fish (sharks) are out there!!!! I’m trying to think of it as motivation to swim fast!!

The Bike

I love the bike- it is my favorite of the three sports. I did a great 20 mile ride last Saturday. The bike portion of the race is 18 miles. I am not sure how hilly the course is except there is a huge one coming out of T1 and T2. Anyway, my practice ride is VERY bikehilly. Funny I never noticed how hilly it was here until I started biking and running. I do not have clipless pedals and wont be able to get them until after this race. I have also been practicing on the spin bike at the gym since I cant swim until 6:30. It is VERY boring BUT i have been doing intervals for 30 minutes and I can see improvement every weekend on my long ride.

The Run

I love the ‘idea’ of being a runner. Thenrunnner I actually run. The first mile my legs are tight and heavy and I am struggling to breathe and seriously questing why I EVER signed up to do a race and seriously considering turning around and going back home and then, magically,  after about a mile or so, something clicks in and it feels great.

One thing after reading some advice on the forums at Beginner Triathlete; I have slowed down quite a bit. My 5k was around 10 minutes a mile but I have been running around 3.6 miles at around 11.20 minutes a mile- which is a much more comfortable pace. (Yes, I am a turtle). It is very hard for me to be this disciplined & hold back, I want to be a sprinter. My favorite ‘running’ thing to do is dig in the last 200 yards (200 feet? when I can see my finish line) and give everything I have left to sprint to the finish. LOVE it!!! But I am refraining so I do not injure myself before my race. I would love to do a 10K , and am even starting to dream of a HM…maybe I am learning to love this running after all… who knew??

Running update: I found a great new blog I have been reading SarahFaithHansen and it had an awesome post about running: So You Think You Hate Running?  Very informative and motivational, if you are a struggling runner like me you need to read this!!

So here is my training plan for the month of May:

May Training

Not sure how readable that is. Basically Monday, Wednesday, Friday 30 minutes of intervals on spin bike (orange) then a 30 minute swim (blue). Tuesday and Thursday l run (green) for 30-45 minutes. Saturday & Sunday long bike and run. Saturday the 11th I had a race simulation planned but there is suppose to be an on-site swim practice so that may change. two short bike/run bricks the 21st and 25th. I plan to add 30 minutes of strength training 2-3 times a week.

Strength Training

sw6

I  have been reminded lately how important core work & strength training is  to triathlon and am working to fit that in as well. Actually strength training is my love, not cardio, BUT I am learning balance, in all things, is the key 🙂

STRONG is the new skinny. Love it. Skinny doesn’t work well for me.

One Response to “Training Dayz”

  1. sarahfaithhansen September 5, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Thank you so much for the mention! I’m so glad you enjoyed my ramblings! You will do great! Good luck in your training! Let us know how the race goes!

Leave a Reply

